AAU logo


about the faculty

The Technical Faculty of IT and Design (TECH) saw the light of day January 1, 2017. The faculty however has a much longer history as it originates from the former Faculty of Engineering and Science that has existed since the establishment of Aalborg University in 1974. On January 1, 2017, the previous faculty was divided into two faculties: the Technical Faculty of IT and Design  and the Faculty of Engineering and Science

TECH consists of four departments.. The departments conduct research in:

Electronic Systems
Computer Science
Architecture, Design and Media Technology

The faculty has approximately 5,000 students (2016)..

At TECH, collaboration with the business community and the wider society by both researchers and students has high priority. The faculty has more than 200 cooperation agreements with external partners, and a study by the Danish Confederation of Industry (2016) shows that Danish companies rank Aalborg University as Denmark's best university to partner with. 

Internationally, TECH distinguishes itself with high placements on a number of reputable rankings of the world’s universities. For instance, the faculty is ranked number seven in the world in Electronic and Electrical Engineering on the Shanghai/ARWU World Rankings 2016, and, in conjunction with our colleagues from two other faculties at Aalborg University, we were Europe's best Engineering university, and number eight in the world on the U.S. News & World Report Rankings 2017.

The faculty has campuses in Esbjerg, Copenhagen and Aalborg.

The dean of the Technical Faculty of IT and Design is Henrik Pedersen.


Site Menu

The Dean's Office

  Dean Henrik Pedersen
  Phone: +45 9940 9632
  Read more